About

Here you can find all forums, blogs and similar sections, that are meant for different types of communication.

Banner Hide banner

Simbiat
Simbiat

I had a dream today. One of those, that leave you with a heavy feeling once you wake up. I do not remember that much from it, but somehow my mother was alive again, with people (including her) remembering, that she was dead before, and somehow I had to go back to school, and study similar stuff, I studied back in the day. What I do remember quite well is conversation I had with my grandma at the end of the dream, before I woke up.

I was saying to her, that I do not need these lessons, and what are they even supposed to teach me in the first place, and that even if did need them, I am not required to be perfect at them, and what's more - not obliged to fit the perfect world picture, that my previously dead mother has in her head. While this may sound harsh, this is what I truly believe in right now, and since I had a reminder to post something today, I thought why not talk about whole 2 topics touched in this dream.

Memorization ≠ education

I will go there and say, that education is overrated. Not in the sense of "drop out of school", though. My experience is obviously limited to my own school and to what I've read about schools in other countries, but generally current education system(s) focus on memorization of stuff. While training memory is important, I do not think it should be the focus of a learning process.