About

Here you can find all forums, blogs and similar sections, that are meant for different types of communication.

Banner Hide banner

Simbiat
Simbiat

Recently I applied to a tech support job at Yahaha. Did not get a job, because there was someone more experienced than me, probably not in tech support, but in Discord specifically, because I do not have much experience with it yet, and that is was a requirement for them. But this post is not about that.

I had to answer a set of questions in written form and a bunch of them were related to support (obviously), and were more... Theoretical, I guess, rather than "a client comes to you with a problem, what do you do?". So I thought, why not share my answers? Maybe someone will find those useful or maybe it will start some kind of discussion.

So here they are.

Question: Currently, our users on Discord are Creators. They vary from absolute beginners to experienced developers and therefore their technical problems will be very different. How would you approach dealing with these differences?

Answer: As usual, unless I somehow already know of the level of experience of the user, I would try to predict it from the original question or problem description. For example, if the user is using certain terminology in the description, it can be an indication of their knowledge in the respective subject.

That said, I would still not blindly assume anything, and if I have any doubts, I will find a way to ask some question to properly establish their level. The way I do that will differ based on circumstances, though, because I, myself, can get a bit frustrated, when I am asked a question which clearly shows, that the supporter assumes me to be a total newb, even when my initial message may indicate otherwise.